Back to list page

Proud to be shortlisted at the HSJ Partnership Awards

Posted: 14th December 2020

Yorkshire & Humber Academic Health Science Network (AHSN) is delighted to announce that it has been shortlisted for two HSJ Partnership Awards, recognising its outstanding dedication to improving healthcare.

The two categories are:

  • Most Effective Contribution to Patient Safety for our work with Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust implementing Placental Growth Factor Testing.
  • Most Effective Contribution to Clinical Redesign for our work with York Teaching Hospitals to implement the Faecal Calprotectin Pathway across the region.

Placental growth factor-based tests help predict the risk of pre-eclampsia quickly so that pregnant women receive the most appropriate care and deliver a better patient experience.

The Yorkshire & Humber AHSN worked in collaboration with Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust and helped with implementation of the test. The AHSN also provided impartial advice, making the trust aware of the tests available to rule out pre-eclampsia and offered support to the trust’s application to receive Pathway Transformation Funding through the Accelerated Access Collaborative.

The test ensures only women in need of admission are admitted, allowing those who are found to be at low risk to be discharged home with robust plans in place for follow up and retesting.

The Faecal Calprotectin Pathway helps GPs to make the difficult distinction between Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Inflammatory Bowel Disease. As many as 19 out of 20 patients presenting symptoms of these conditions are unnecessarily referred to secondary care while, for other patients, diagnosis can be delayed.

We led the implementation of the Faecal Calprotectin pathway since 2015 in partnership with York Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and we spearheaded the roll-out of the pathway on behalf of the AHSN Network to make the best use of NHS resources and deliver a better patient experience.

Find out all the winners here