Back to list page

Awards celebrating innovation in health and care open for entries

Posted: 1st March 2023

The Innovate Awards 2023, which celebrate innovation in health and care, are back for its second year delivered collaboratively between the AHSN Network and NHS Confederation.

Following the high standard and volume of entries received in 2022, a new category has been added to celebrate the best use of data in health innovation. There are 11 award categories to enter as well as the grand prix – winner of winners – award. Anyone working in integrated care communities – local authorities, care providers and other NHS health and social services will be able to enter. These awards represent a golden opportunity to tell the story of those who have collaborated and developed new initiatives to support better health outcomes for patients.

Richard Stubbs, Vice Chair of the AHSN Network and CEO at Yorkshire & Humber AHSN said: “We’re excited that following the success of last year’s Innovate Awards, we’re bringing them back for a second year. It’s so important to recognise and appreciate the UK’s amazing innovators who are passionate about delivering better health outcomes for patients.

 “Healthcare innovation is vital to help tackle some of the biggest challenges facing the NHS. As the NHS celebrates its own 75th birthday, it’s inspiring to be able to showcase some of the healthcare innovations that will help the health service to continue to deliver effective and sustainable care throughout the decades to come.

“In 2022 we received nearly 200 entries, all of which were of an extremely high standard, which has allowed us to open a new category for 2023: Best Use of Data in Health Innovation. Good luck to all our 2023 entrants.”

Matthew Taylor, Chief Executive, NHS Confederation said: “The Innovate Awards offer an opportunity to celebrate excellence in health and care innovation, and it’s fantastic to see them return for the second year running. The NHS Confederation is proud to be able to support these awards and we know they are a chance to celebrate the outstanding work of individuals, teams and organisations that are leading the way in health and care innovation.”

The 11 award categories to enter this year are as follows:

  • New for 2023: Best Use of Data in Health Innovation
  • Net Zero Innovation of the Year
  • The Diversity in Innovation Award
  • Excellence in Patient and Public Involvement in Transformation and Innovation
  • Innovation Spread Award
  • Best Workforce Innovation
  • Innovation Helping Address Health Inequalities
  • Outstanding Contribution to Population Health Through Innovation
  • Innovative Health System of the Year
  • Outstanding Collaboration with Industry
  • Enabling Safer Systems of Care Through Innovation.

The final, 12th, ‘winners of winners’ award– Innovation Champion of the Year – will be selected by the judges from across the other category winners.

Entries are now open and should be made via the Innovate Awards website. The closing date for submissions will be midnight on Friday 19 May 2023.

The final winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at the Grand Connaught Rooms in London on 21 September 2023. More information on how to register to attend this event will be released soon.

For more information about the Innovate Awards contact the organising panel at or visit the Innovate Awards website.